dreamt up reality
10:08 p.m. // 2004-11-15

you're the story that i read
as i bite my lips until they bleed
you're dusty, old&torn
since my patience has been worn

we try to replay
the events of that day
til they can't be erased
from our minds

you tried to run away
but you couldn't escape
the questions that shout above your thoughts
as you got to the door
you stopped once more
and turned to me to say "i'm sorry"

you're the lies that i speak
but the words come out too bleak
you seemed to be mistreated&used
your heart so abused

we try to replay
the events of that day
til they can't be erased
from our minds

you've tried to hide from me
but you had to come see
the letters that burned in my soul
you opened the door
your eyes couldn't be torn
from the flaming words saying "i love you"

you're the heart on my sleeve
that i can't bear to leave
as the smoke tries to fill up
the deepening cuts

we try to replay
the events of that day
til they can't be erased
from our minds

you slipped away from me
leaving behind the only key
that could open my iced over heart
then you shut the door
without looking back once more
on the tip of your tongue sat "you're still my star"

so i'm the star that fell away
on that oh, so fateful day
that we can't seem to erase
from our minds

no matter how hard we try
it replays again
..the end..

rewind // fast forward